Alberta Water Council Members
The Alberta Water Council is comprised of 24 Members organized into four broad categories - Industry, Non-Government Organizations, Government, and the Government of Alberta and Provincial Authorities. Each Member represents a discrete sector and identifies a director and, if they wish, an alternate to represent their interests on the Council. The Members from each broad category select a representative for the executive committee (vice-president), and the members of the executive committee select a president from its ranks.


Sector Member(s) Director Alternate
Chemical and Petrochemical Canadian Fuels Association; Chemistry Industry Association of Canada Rob Hoffman  Greg Moffatt
Irrigation Alberta Irrigation Projects Association Margo Jarvis Redelback Richard Phillips
Cropping Crop Sector Working Group   Fiona Briody
Mining Alberta Chamber of Resources James Guthrie Chris Fordham
Oil & Gas Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers Deanna Cottrell  
Forestry Alberta Forest Products Association Keith Murray (Vice-President) Dan Moore
Livestock Intensive Livestock Working Group   Doug Sawyer
Power Generation

TransAlta; ATCO; Capital Power

Jim Hackett Ahmed Idriss

Non-Government Organizations

Environmental Alberta Wilderness Association Carolyn Campbell Bob Cameron
Environmental Environmental Law Centre Jason Unger  
Environmental Water Conservation Trust of Canada Maureen Bell  
Wetlands Conservation Ducks Unlimited Canada Tracy Scott  
Fisheries Habitat Conservation Fish Habitat Conservation Collective Silvia D'Amelio  
Lake Environment Conservation Alberta Lake Management Society Jay White (Vice-President) Bradley Peter
Watershed Planning and Advisory Councils Alberta WPACs  Roxane Bretzlaff Morris Mesdole


Large Urban Cities of Edmonton and Calgary Mark Brostrom Nancy Stalker
Small Urban Alberta Urban Municipalities Association Tanya Thorn (Vice-President) Che-Wei Chung
Rural Rural Municipalities of Alberta Paul McLauchlin Tom Burton
Métis Settlements Métis Settlements General Council Darren Calliou  

Government of Alberta & Provincial Authorities

Alberta Agriculture and Forestry Alberta Agriculture and Forestry Dave Burdek  Jamie Wuite
Alberta Energy Alberta Energy Stephanie Clarke   Wade Clark
Alberta Environment and Parks Alberta Environment and Parks    Rick Blackwood
Alberta Health Alberta Health    Merry Turtiak
Science and Research Alberta Innovates - Clean Energy Brett Purdy  Vicki Lightbown